nina-gaat-studeren-in-cambridge.reismee.nl

week 5

Hi,

Oké, I could say that I definitely lost track of time, since I posted my last post over a month ago, Whoops.

Life has been quite busy. I try to manage to go to school everyday and to keep up with the homework. Besides that I've got a bunch of people I want to stay in touch with who live in the Netherlands. So you could say that of all skills my multitask-skills have definitely improved the most. No just kidding, school goes pretty good as well, although aiming for a B pass (at CPE level) on all skills is pretty exhausting.

Besides school, I've also managed to visit the gym quite often. Fun place to be, that's for sure, because people here tend to dress up a bit differently than what I'm used to. If I put it in other words, they prefer to work out with as less clothes as possible. Funny fact is that they do exactly the same when they go out. I've been in some queues where girls were just almost wearing nothing while it was like 12 degrees outside. I was standing there (jumping around because of the cold) in my wintercoat while they wore crop tops and mini skirts. I imagine them freezing to death in the winter, but they told me that they were fine and used to the cold . Please count me out, I rather be judged as a non. The same counts for my friends here! Although I have no idea what they will come up with to wear to the upcoming halloween parties. By the way my friend are just lovely here. It's is an amazing experience to study abroad but friends can make that experience even better. Over the weeks we have done so many fun things, which honestly almost always included gin tonic or wine . But wine makes you feel fine! After having heard from our new friends for like 4 weeks how amazing Thursday nights out are we decided to join although we had morning classes the day after. Omg that was heavy. The teacher called it the Ballare (name of the club) effect, being tired and speaking nonsense. Luckily we have Costa to provide us with lovely strong coffee . But that night was totally worth the burn, it was amazing.

Having lived here for 5 weeks now I can say that I really like the English culture. People are always really kind and try to help wherever they can. For example when you're standing at a platform with your best friend (with an extremely heavy suitcase, luckily that thing had wheels underneath) heading towards Cambridge and having no idea where to go. No public transport is not really my cup of tea, god bless google maps.

And if you want to boost your self-esteem this is the place to be! Everyone calls you lovely, darling, sweetheart or whatever comes in mind. Besides that at my school there is quite a diversity in terms of how well people master the English language. So often when I fall back into my old habits (teaching), people are amazed by my level of English. Really cute of course but there is still a reason why I'm here gggrrrr.

Next week I will be home for a couple of days, it's about time because I really miss the lovely cheese sprinkles we have in the Netherlands and I might have missed everyone at home as well. Luckily Fleur came to visit me last week and we had lots of fun. We have done like many touristic things such as visiting London, a walk through the park and of course some shopping! It was lovely to have some days off to explore the city as a tourist.

Lots of love,

Nina

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!